150th Anniversary of the Sultana Disaster

I mentioned this on Facebook yesterday, but thought it better to also put out word via a blog post.  This upcoming weekend, the town of Marion, Arkansas will host observances of the 150th anniversary of the Sultana disaster.  Details of the events are posted on the official Sultana 150th website, along with a full schedule of events.

As I’ve mentioned here on the blog before, I lived in Marion, Arkansas for several years.  And the Sultana disaster was one of my choice “field research” topics. I played a role in the dedication of a plaque for the Sultana, placed in town (originally at the city hall, but recently move to the county courthouse).  Many of the names I see active in the weekend activities are old friends.  Though I won’t be able to attend myself, I am looking forward to reports back from those who are able to go.

2 thoughts on “150th Anniversary of the Sultana Disaster

  1. It is my understanding the wreck lies under a soy bean field. With the 150th anniversery has there been any drive to find it, or do an archaelogical exploration?

    • Well, the problem is that the wreck lies on an old river chute. In that stretch of the river there are many such wrecks. I am of the opinion that a wider-scoped archeological survey should be done.

Leave a Reply

