My vote for the best of the 2013 sesquicentennials: Ranger Young at Snodgrass Hill

I was not able to make the Chickamauga 150th this year.  My participation was simply watching and retweeting/reposting from others who were at the fore.  Mostly “wish I was there” activity.  But watching this video, featuring Ranger Chris Young at the 150th events at that battlefield, I felt goosebumps.

Powerful and moving.

In my opinion, this was most inspiring and memorable part of a year full of outstanding sesquicentennial events.  And trust me, there were a lot of those such events in 2013.

Special shout out also to the fellow who mixed the video.

2 responses to “My vote for the best of the 2013 sesquicentennials: Ranger Young at Snodgrass Hill

  1. excellent! I’ve been to some great 150th events but I agree this one sends chills up my spine! Its hard to imagine this country sacrificing like it did during WW2 again much less the civil war! I never realized to toll of Chickamauga before this year. It seems like many of the western battles, Chickamauga, Stones River and Shiloh were stand up slugfests!

  2. Pingback: Interpretive opportunities and challenges: Lincoln Boyhood National Memorial | To the Sound of the Guns

Leave a Reply

